Client Reviews and Testimonials

What Bark Busters clients have to say about our dog training services

Lifetime Support Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behaviour and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

See below for all our reviews, or use the fields below to filter reviews by behaviour issues or by location.
review image
Gav M Auckland/Warkworth, North Island | January 03 2024
Bandit is nearly 3yrs old and likes to bark at any noise he hears from the house, plus pulls when walking and has intermittent obedience. Keiko showed us some simple methods and approaches and we are already seeing positive results within a few days, and without the need for treats! More work to be done, but very happy with the progress so far, and the presentation and extra knowledge we now have means we can get more enjoyment from our relationship with Bandit. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Keiko : Thank you for taking time to leave a review Gavin! Great to hear Bandit (3 years old Labrador) is making good progress 👍 He was just confused about who is the boss. Now he has leaders who understand him better and speak his language!! Keep up the good work! My help is always available for you and Bandit 😊
review image
Catherine M Raumati, North Island | December 26 2023
We are thrilled that we now have a settled and content dog who no longer regards herself as ‘in charge’ of the household. We highly recommend the training programme. It’s a life saver! Lucy is no longer barking at everything or attacking her brother or jumping up on us when we get home. It’s such a relief. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Sibling rivalry
Trainer note from Keith : Thanks Catherine. It's amazing what a bit of leadership does to help a dog settle into a new home. And it goes to show that even a 7- year-old dog can learn new tricks. Well done everyone!
review image
Joanne K Upper Hutt, North Island | December 23 2023
Willow has shown a lot of progress in just a few days of constant training an sticking to what was taught to us on Wednesday. Really impressed with the progress so far Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Keith : Thanks Joanne. You're off to a great start. The consistency and persistence will pay off. I look forward to seeing your progress and helping to keep it moving forward in our follow-up sessions. She's a good puppy that will be a fantastic dog. Well done, keep up the good work.
review image
Raewyn Q Auckland, North Island | December 23 2023
Keiko provided amazing support and guidance for us with for our adolescent puppy and helped us prepare safely for the arrival of a new baby in the house with a very large dog. Her approach was clear, sensible and supportive and she ensured we understood why we needed to do each part of the approach. We really liked that the approach with the dog was assertive but also gentle, with clear guidance for the dog and lots of positive feedback rather than punishment. This has helped us to develop really positive relationships and trust with the dog. We were at a point where we were considering options, including rehoming, but Keiko worked her magic and we all love our relationship with our lovely dog now and he has settled in beautifully with the new baby. Many, many thanks to Keiko for training us so well!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Other, Puppy management
Trainer note from Keiko : Thank you so much for your positive feedback and thoughts on our positive training system. I am very happy to hear Zion (7 months old Mastiff cross) is doing so well. Keep up the good work! My help is always available for you and Zion 😊
review image
Kumar G Auckland - Kumeu, North Island | December 21 2023
Keiko was simply amazing and assertive with us educating on us so much and helping us understand our little boy. As soon as she walked into our gate our puppy responded to her immediately. Within our first session we were able to adjust his habits almost straight away. Very excited to see the progress we can continue to make together! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Puppy management, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Keiko : Thank you for taking time to leave a review Kumar! Theo (4 months old White Shepherd Husky cross) responded to his first session really well. Keep up the good work! My help is always available for you and Theo😊
review image
David S Karori, North Island | December 20 2023
Initial session was a success and we are already seeing changes. She appreciates the more rigorous discipline. She is more relaxed and spends more time on her mat. She is getting better with visitors. Walking to heel is better when walking briskly but she still pulls when walking slowly. Recall still needs to improve. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Keith : Thanks David. That's excellent progress. It's amazing how a bit of leadership makes for a calmer and happier dog. And happier family! Be consistent and persistent and the improvements will keep coming. I look forward to our follow-up session under our Life of the Dog Support Guarantee, that'll help to keep things moving. Good job!
review image
Lynne M Westport, South Island | December 19 2023
Bobby has thought he is the leader of our pack after his human father passed away earlier this year. Mark came to our home and explained why Bobby is reacting this way and has given me some great skills to reestablish that I'm the pack leader with Bobby. It only took a couple of times and Bobby was great. Friends and Family have all noted what a different dog he is behavioral wise and not barking at couriers etc. My chooks are very grateful now too with no surprises from Bobby rushing at them, walking around the park without being pulled along, it is so pleasant to have my buddy walk beside or behind me now. Mark was so great with both of us, and being able to be trained at home in our own surrounds familiar to Bobby. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Mark : Bobby is a beautiful big Boxer boy. From Buller west coast. Since dad passed, mum had struggled to get on top of some of his behaviours as he's decided to be pack leader in the house , barking too strongly at arrivals,pulling and recall but also jumping up and starting to play rough with nipping. He responded very well and now the chook feeding routine is much more controlled among other things. Just one session so far but huge improvements all credit to Mum for applying the speakdog process. Well done both of you.
review image
Linda B Kaikoura, South Island | December 16 2023
Charli barks when people come to the door , at the courier at our retail shop where he comes with me daily. He also has anxiety with visiting the vet and barks a lot . Over the course of the session Mark helped address these issues and showed me ways to keep the training going and Charli calmer. Charli responded well , is a work in progress but I’m sure we will get on top of most of his issues to make him a more pleasant wee dog Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking
Trainer note from Mark : Ahhh little Charli. Lovely wee guy but definitely thinks he needs to be protector of all. Vey barky at arrivals both at home and at the retail shop .Major fear aggression at the vets, will bite. So the lesson went well , he responded well and stated focusing, we got to the vets with much less reaction than usual although that will be a work in progress but initially showing great promise of toning down his bossiness. Nice work Charli and Mum.
review image
Wendy B Auckland, North Island | December 09 2023
We found the time that Keiko spent with our family and Georgie to be so valuable. Keiko thoughtfully explained things in a way that may complete sense and gave us some very clear and practical advice about the things that we could work on with Georgie. We saw improvements in behaviour straight away and are finding it rewarding working on our homework with Georgie. I have already recommended Keiko to a friend. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Recall
Trainer note from Keiko : Thank you so much for your positive feedback. I was very happy how Georgie (3 years old Labrador) responded to her first session. I am so glad that you have already started seeing results. Keep up the good work! My help is always available for you and Georgie 😊
Becky B
Becky B Kaikoura, South Island | December 08 2023
"I'd like to share my wonderful experience with Mark. He managed to fit us in before Christmas and exceeded our expectations. His lesson was exceptional in terms of time and effort. I was impressed by how he conducted two initial lessons in a single day, and travel the south island. We were exhausted, and so were the dogs! Mark has a unique storytelling approach that helped me understand my dogs and start learning 'dog'. Although I found the walking and lead work challenging, Mark was patient with me and gave me different options to try, which made me understand better. This was especially helpful since I am neurodiverse. Thanks to Mark's expertise, the dogs are now extremely happy, and so are we. We can't thank you enough, Mark!" Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety, Sibling rivalry
Trainer note from Mark : Phillip is the dog in question, Royal his offsider. Phillip is very anxious and barks at anything , pulls on walks , barks at dogs , Separation issues and worried about most people coming to the house. Once the techniques of refocusing Phillip were applied he started to settle , responded well , still with some work to go and the Mums did an awesome job of applying the information and correct body language. I'm looking forward to catching up soon to see the progress. Well done Kaikoura team Phillip.