Client Reviews and Testimonials

What Bark Busters clients have to say about our dog training services

Lifetime Support Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behaviour and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

See below for all our reviews, or use the fields below to filter reviews by behaviour issues or by location.
review image
Tony M Christchurch, South Island | November 13 2023
Mark was great and within minutes Dotti responded to him and we had a different dog. He taught us how to work with her and by the next day walking was no longer a nightmare for us. We still have work to do with the separation anxiety, but it's early days. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Mark : Dotti is a 2 yr old Collie with separation anxiety issues , house move and family change hasn't helped her manage things . Great dog , bright willing to learn and the owners applied our speakdog techniques really well. She'll do great but the separation anxiety will be a work in progress initially. Great work guys.
review image
Liz W Waima, North Island | November 13 2023
Keiko has changed my life in 3 days. Our dog Loki was so aggressive with visitors that I was scared to ask people over. With a baby on the way I was starting to become very anxious about how I would handle the situation. On her first visit she taught us so much that we saw a huge change in Loki's behavior without treats or yelling. Her calm, clear, friendly manner and incredible depth of knowledge are exactly what we needed. A huge weight has been lifted off my shoulders now that I have Keiko’s strategies under my belt. I’m looking forward to learning more from her in our next lessons. My entire family is astonished by the results she has achieved in just 3 days since our first lesson. Loki seems so much happier and calmer too. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Keiko : That's wonderful Liz 👍 Thank you for taking time to leave a review, it was my pleasure to work with you and Loki (3 years old Labrador cross). He was shy and confused. Now he has leaders who understand him better and speak his language!! He is not confused any more 😊 Keep up the good work!
review image
Jordon M Grovetown, South Island | November 13 2023
Well worth it Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Mark : Basic lesson to tweak some minor recall and pulling issues ,. Good dog with good skills just needed extra skills for the owners.
review image
Kate E Oamaru, South Island | November 03 2023
Mark and Bark Busters have saved the day and my confidence in handling my beautiful sweet 1 year old border collie x Billie Jean. Because she’s grown in a big strong dog I was struggling to walk her on the lead because of her pulling… it was becoming a danger to me and to Billie I was also becoming very frustrated…. There were other issues too that I wanted help with. Marks approach and training method was gentle but firm and I felt she has responded very well especially to the praise when she does what is asked of her … there is a huge turn around with in a couple of days and is no longer pulling on the lead or taking up her posie on the sofa and is listening to me It’s early days and I understand that she will still test me but I now have the tools to be in control instead of the other way around !! Thank you Mark for helping me to understand my beautiful girl. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Mark : Billie Jean was not her lover , just a girl who thought that she was the one , Lovely temperament but just big ,strong and not listening at all. very strong young Collie x Staffy possibly mastiff. Billie and mum responded very well and with the simple , easy exercises to develop focus and leadership Billie has learned to walk very well very quickly , at 1yr old she's still a teen and will need regular daily programming but its looking like a much happier house already.
review image
Sara K christchurch, South Island | November 02 2023
Fantastic! We have had other trainers for our wee girl and didn't want to have too much hope for a new trainer. Mark has given us hope again! He equipped us with very effective tools to handle our problems and our 2 year old rescue has never been calmer. Can't wait for our second session. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Pulling
Trainer note from Mark : Certainly Betsy was a nervous girl of men and visitors she's not common with. Being a street rescue from up north any number of adverse situations could have caused her reactions. But by getting the mums to refocus her, speakdog and communicate in a way she can understand them and talk her language she did actually come round to enjoying the man pats and focus on tasks way better. Still some ways to go but a great start and the next session should get her moving forward in confidence and focus. Keen to catch up soon and well done ladies.
review image
Janet H BRYNDWR, South Island | October 29 2023
Our 7 yr old Australian/Cairn Terrier is super lovable but can have a mind of his own and is territorial. Mark gave us the tools to communicate what we needed from Max so that he behaved in a better way. It quickly became apparent during the time Mark was with us that Max was keen to listen. Although we know that there is still alot of work to be done with Max, we are confident that both he, as well as us together with the on-going help from Mark, that a positive outcome will be achieved. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Mark : Little Max , well highly loveable but certainly leader his pack, quite reactive to noises and especially carers coming to the granny flat for mums care. Enemy number one. The owners took on board the dog theories and applied our speak dog processes with Max responding very well . I'm keen to catch up in a week or two to check on progress. Well done team Max
review image
Rae J Bannockburn, South Island | October 26 2023
Mark was super generous with his time, he even called to see us on his way to an appointment to offer some advice without payment prior to us confirming a lesson, we were super impressed and engaged him to help with Sylvie. Her travel anxiety was a real worry for us which threatened to derail our caravanning plans, Mark has provided us with the tools and a plan to overcome her issues, we feel so much better and confident, which is half the battle. thank you Mark we look forward to our next catch up. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Other, Pulling
Trainer note from Mark : Sylvie is a Cavoodle 18mths old , lives in Bannockburn near Cromwell and very little access to training or advice. Her issues are those of an anxious but also very passively pushy dog, she Barks , dog reactive to the neighbours dogs, jumps , pulls , very anxious of car travel . I stopped in to give some quick pointers which helped their cause and then on the next trip to the region they booked in a lesson , Huge improvements almost instantly. I'm looking forward to catching up in the near future
review image
Linda H Timaru, South Island | October 24 2023
Incredibly happy with my first lesson from Mark..can totally see where I have been going wrong with koby..I have quiet a few things to tackle but mark has given me the tools in how to go about it. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Mark : Koby is a GSD 3 yrs old with dog reactive issues pulled , jumps Barks etc. He responded well and improvements could be seen during the lesson using the Bark Busters speakdog communication techniques. With our program and lifetime support guarantee further steps forward can be achieved soon in subsequient revisits. Nice job team and Koby.
review image
Lisa B Auckland, North Island | October 11 2023
Thank you so much Keiko, after just one session Poppy is a much happier, calmer dog, I wouldn't believe the results if I didn't see them for myself! Our training sessions are so much more enjoyable now that we're speaking the same language. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Keiko : That's wonderful Lisa 👍 Poppy (18 months old Sighthound cross) was shy and confused. Now she has leaders who understand her better and speak her language!! She is not confused any more 😊 Keep up the good work!
review image
Katharine B Glendene, North Island | October 09 2023
We were absolutely overjoyed and amazed at the difference in our dog after just a few hours with Keiko. Even a day later it feels like we have a different dog, even though we know there's lots more work to do. If you're on the fence at all about calling BarkBusters please do it. Keiko was very friendly and professional and made the whole process of understanding why our dog acts the way he does very engaging and intuitive. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Keiko : Thank you Katharine for taking the time to leave a lovely review, I was very happy how Barney (1.5 year old American Staffy) responded to his first session. I am so glad that you are seeing the results. Keep up the good work! My help is always available for you and Barney 😊